Love The Hell Out Of Them

It occurred to me one day that I need to change my focus. Really I believe WE need to change our priorities and focus but I can’t change you. All I’m doing is presenting my opinion and encouraging you think about what I have found. I even encourage you to discuss and debate with me, because I can’t see all sides of this and present it on my own.
 I asked two questions this specific day on my Facebook status
“Are you satisfied with the way the world is?
If not what are you doing to change it?”
I wondered “is what I’m doing enough?” because my desire has always been to change this world for the better.
Looking at this world and everything I’ve done, it doesn’t seem to make sense, because essentially it’s me against the world, but what more could I do? I then thought about my man Lane’s saying that I totally agree with which is “Love The Hell Out Of Them”.
Thinking about a lot of things recently in my personal life, plus hearing about the economy and protests in Greece, and even just now hearing about this Raymond and Vanessa Jackson couple, I’m just convinced even more that this world needs change. I was sitting on my lunch break talking to my friend, and I’m thinking “is what I’m doing enough”, I then started thinking how Lane’s phrase is kind of a play on what Jesus said in Matthew 5:43-48 & Luke 6:27-36 where He talks about praying for your enemies, and even Matthew 7:12 where He says to do unto others what you have them do unto you.
Thinking about it all I realized while I’m doing almost as much as I can physically, the way that matters most I haven’t been doing. Then I remembered the revelation God gave me about praying for our enemies.I don’t think we like praying for our enemies; we don’t want to, we probably think that praying for them means that they will be blessed even more when they don’t even deserve what they have.
When you think about enemies, you probably think about someone that hates you personally for whatever reason. I’m sure that most of us have had or still have an enemy like that, but think about an enemy in the context of Ephesians 6:10-14.  Our war is not against flesh and blood, it’s against principalities and powers, right?

So looking at it in a broader sense, what is our biggest enemy? I personally think selfishness/greed.

Especially as Americans they lie to us and sell us this American dream which isn’t that bad, but it’s all about self. Government and Big Business do things to make us think only for a moment that they are intent to help us reach the American dream. But if you really look at it objectively you would realize that the things these companies are NOT doing things to help you. They are trying to reach what they consider their dream, which is money. And sadly a lot of people have adopted that dream as their own.

Even churches have jumped on the band wagon with the whole “name it / claim it” trend and messages of prosperity. Before that and even to this day there are also churches that preach personal poverty for the prosperity of the church (or in extreme cases prosperity for the pastor). I posed this question to my friend…

When has a church or a pastor prayed against or taught against selfishness or greed?”
What’s affecting our world the most?

My vote…… Greed, Selfishness, Vanity…. They all roll together.
I’ve started praying against that stuff; changing my focus.
While I didn’t know how this plays into the vision God gave me years ago, I know now. This is way more likely to make the change in the world than the vision God gave me, but it doesn’t override the vision at all.

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.