Crying Is Not Weakness

​It really bothers me when people equate tears with weakness. Someone said it explicitly last night and then trump alluded to it recently as well.

I don’t understand. Do people really think that the strong don’t cry? And I know this is a extreme example but, do people think murderers have never cried? If your mother, or any other loved one dies are you not supposed to cry? Are you not supposed to cry when you lose a lover, or even a friend?

Yes sometimes weakness and crying are simultaneously, but don’t you dare think that crying is weakness. I think you are sadly mistaken if you think that. You do know people hold in tears all the time right? You do know that people cry quietly in bathroom stalls right? I’m sure you know. I’m sure you’ve done it. I’m not saying we need to cry in front of the world or even in front of our loved ones, but what I am trying to say is that crying is not weakness and that you should not promote that falsehood to others.

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

