Talking about the stigmatized

Somehow, I don’t mind the thought of being seen as intermittently psychotic nearly as much as I mind being pigeonholed as weak and neurotic. Finally, I am deeply wary that by speaking publicly or writing about such intensely private aspects of my life, I will return to them one day and find them bleached of meaning and feeling. By putting myself in the position of speaking too freely and too often, I am concerned the the experiences will become remote, inaccessible, and far distant, behind me; I fear that the experiences will become those of someone else rather than my own.

  • Pg. 202, An Unquiet Mind, ISBN – 978-0-679-76330-7, Kay Redfield Jamison
Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

