Parenting And Dreamkillers

It is only now, in looking back – after deflating experiences later in life when I was told to lower my sights or to rein in my enthusiasm – that I fully appreciate the seriousness with which my ideas were taken by my parents and their friends; and it is only now that I really begin to understand how desperately important it was to both my intellectual and emotional life to have had my thoughts and enthusiasms given not only respect but active encouragement. An ardent temperament makes one very vulnerable to dreamkillers, and I was more lucky than I knew in having been brought up around enthusiasts, and lovers of enthusiasts.

  • Pg. 26, An Unquiet Mind, ISBN – 978-0-679-76330-7, Kay Redfield Jamison
Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

