Labels Are A Catch-22

Labels make things a little bit easier to talk about but labels are a catch-22. Because people have their own understanding of those labels.

For instance people have called me optimistic, a label I have never agreed with. I would be more willing to agree with the label pessimistic, but although I don’t use labels when talking to myself, about myself, I know that label is inaccurate also. Others have agreed with that as well, when I have called myself pessimistic people have vehemently disagreed. I have so many folk on my timeline that talk about getting rid of the negativity or pessimism on their timelines and I always expect to see them disappear from my feed. For the most part I haven’t seen them disappear.

Without labels it’s not that we couldn’t talk or convey certain things, it’s just that it makes it often a more long and drawn out process. Maybe that’s a good thing, because I don’t put much weight on first impressions, I wait for an overall impression over time, to see what type of person you really are.

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

