Quote From Colin Powell

“I learned a valuable lesson about competition at Devens: it does not have to be cutthroat.  I come up with competitions for my company – not just in sports, but for best barracks, best day room, best weapons inspection, any performance that could be rated and rewarded. The more competitions, the more each individual GI or platoon had a chance to standout. I was keenly aware of this need. I had discovered my own self-worth in uniform, and I intended to help my troops find theirs. I saw far less value in “Super Bowl” competitions requiring Olympic class performers who spent all their time training. The event was secondary.  The point was to build confidence and self-esteem among a lot of soldiers. The healthiest competition occurs when average people win by putting in above average effort.”

– Colin Powell
April 5, 1937 – present
1995, page 55, ISBN 0-345-40728-8

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

