Everybody Fails 2012-0809

It’s funny how sometimes we say statements as if they apply across the board and apply them sparingly/partially.

I was just thinking “Everybody fails… hell, I feel like I have a life of failure, I’m not afraid to fail” then I thought about a conversation that I had recently and asked myself again, am I afraid to fail? I do not believe I’m typically afraid to fail, but I am unwilling to set myself up for failure, with lack of preparation, lack of understanding. I think I’d rather lose while holding back and learn from the experience, as opposed to lose while using and expending everything.

You don’t bring your life savings or inheritance to the table the first time you ever play poker. Many things in life are in need of a balance and balance isn’t often easy. I have said it before and I will say it again, just because you know better, does not mean you actually do better. Knowledge and experience are not the same. Capability and performance are not the same.

Deep down, I know everyone fails, I fail all the time, but I do try to avoid it, maybe even to my own detriment.

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

