Stubborn Myths And Fallacies 02

My mother often told m

“if you don’t have anything nice to say then don’t say anything at all’

but I didn’t listen all of the time, because I followed another rule she always taught me, to tell the truth. Often times the two conflict, not all the time, but most of the time.

For instance…

  • When your kids make a drawing or sing a song or whatever it is that they do, typically you parents tell them that they are good or great or awesome. Knowingly lying to some of your most loved ones.
  • When you work at a job, you tell customers that you’re “sorry to hear that” .
  • When you tell your wife, “you are the most beautiful woman on earth”, or “I would never hurt you”, or “I will never leave you”.

These are all supposedly “nice” things to say but are they truth? Absolutely not. Some of those statements are just what you need to say or unable to be confirmed or measured.

Back when I was young I used to shut my mouth a lot, now I write so that whatever truth I do have is available as truth should be. Truth should not be hidden away, and truth is not always nice. You can be quiet and be part of the problem or you can flap your gums and lie to people to make them feel better, but what we need more than anything is the truth.

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

