Quick Thoughts On Compliments 2012-02??

I could go the rest of my life without a compliment, because compliments are worthless. I’d much rather take criticism over compliments any day, because when they are valid, they have the potential to make me better. On the other hand a compliment when it’s valid just attempts to stroke an ego that I don’t have or just don’t care about. A misplaced compliment is potentially deadly because I can go around believing a lie that gets me into far worse trouble than I am already in.

An errant criticism on the other hand shows me a person’s true face and hateful heart more often than not. Some would say that an accurate compliment is an encouragement to continue doing right but I do right because it’s right. You shouldn’t have to be tempted to do something, you should do it because you believe in it, because it’s right, because it helps. They same way I go to work…. it is for a paycheck, not because I want to or cause I like it.

Please leave your thoughts. Sometimes the only way one can find the truth is to examine all possibilities.

